APA-NC Celebrates Great Places at Town Hall Day

Sec_Kluttz_Speaks_at_APA-NC's_NC   Great_Places_Event_3-18-15

On March 18th, APA-NC celebrated Town Hall Day in Raleigh by joining with legislators to recognize the 2015 winners of the Great Places in North Carolina initiative. Senator Tamara Barringer and Representative Sarah Stevens welcomed all to the Legislative Building to celebrate the dynamic partnerships that bring together local and state governments.

Program Chair Jason Burdette provided an overview of the Great Places in North Carolina program describing this year’s new categories: Great Greenways and Great Historic Rehabilitations. Incoming APA-NC Chapter President John Morck introduced all of the winning communities—Asheboro, Belmont, Goldsboro, Kinston, New Bern, Roanoke Rapids, and West Jefferson.
Representatives from each community shared with those attendance a few words about what makes their respective place great. Behind every great place is North Carolinians working together to improve their community.

APA-NC was pleased to join with legislators to celebrate these collaborative planning efforts. Legislators in attendance included Rep. Michael Wray, Rep. Pat Hurley, Rep. John Torbett, Rep. Dana Bumgardner, Rep. Allen McNeill, Rep. George Graham, Rep. Jonathan Jordan, Rep. Michael Speciale, Sen. Kathy Harrington, and Sen. Angela Bryant.

North Carolina Secretary of Cultural Resources Susan Kluttz concluded the Great Places Legislative Event by highlighting the importance of restoring historic tax credits and developing planning partnerships to the creation of great communities.

Sec_Kluttz_with_APA-NC's_John_Morck_and_Ben_Hitchings_at_NC_Great_Places_Event_3-18-15 Sec_Kluttz_Speaks_at_APA-NC's_NC   Great_Places_Event_3-18-15 Rep_George_Graham_3-18-15 Belmont_Mayor_Charlie_Martin_3-18-15 (3)