American Planning Association

North Carolina Chapter

APA-NC Sections

Click below to jump to a section

Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7

Image Map

 

In 2004, the APA-NC Executive Committee established a program to develop Regional Sections within APA-NC to encourage interaction among members at the local and regional levels.

Each Section is based on existing regional COG planning areas,  and has one or more leaders who are responsible for coordinating at least two meetings per year.  Leaders are invited to attend Executive Committee meetings to provide an update on how their Section is doing and express any concerns and challenges.

For more information you can contact our Sections Coordinator, Joe Heard.

Joe Heard, AICP
Sections Coordinator 
jheard@townofduck.com
(P) 252-255-1234

 

Section 1

Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, Yancey

Leaders

Todd Okolichany
City of Asheville
tokolichany@ashevillenc.gov
(P) 828-259-5840

Erica Anderson
Land of Sky COG
erica@landofsky.org
(P) 828-251-6622

Section 2

Alexander, Anson, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, Union

 

Leaders

Bill Duston
N-Focus Planning & Design
bduston@nfocusplanning.org
(P) 704-281-5497

Elinor Hiltz
Catawba County
ehiltz@catawbacountync.gov
(P) 828-465-8380

Jason Wager
Centralina COG
jwager@centralina.org
(P) 704-348-2707

Section 3

Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Yadkin

Leaders

Brad Klosterman
CPK Consulting
brad.cpk@gmail.com
(P) 336-327-5263

Megan Ledbetter
Village of Clemmons
mledbetter@clemmons.org
(P) 336-766-7511

Section 4

Chatham, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange, Person, Vance, Wake, Warren

 

Leaders

Ken Krulik
Warren County
kkrulik@co.warren.nc.us
(P) 252-257-7027

Hillary Pace
Chatham County
hillary.pace@chathamnc.org
(P) 919-542-8276

Shelby Powell
Capital Area MPO
shelby.powell@ci.raleigh.nc.us
(P) 919-996-4393

Scott Ramage
Town of Cary
scott.ramage@townofcary.org
(P) 919-462-3888

Roger Waldon
rwaldon@clarionassociates.com
(P) 919-967-9188

Section 5

Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrell, Washington, Wilson

 

Leaders

Joe Heard
Town of Duck
jheard@townofduck.com
(P) 252-255-1234

James Rhodes
Pitt County
james.rhodes@pittcountync.gov
(P) 252-902-3250

Section 6

Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Wayne

 

Leaders

Patrick Flanagan
Eastern Carolina COG
pflanagan@eccog.org
(P) 252-638-3185 x3031

Wes MacLeod
Cape Fear COG
wmacleod@capefearcog.org
(P) 910-395-4553 x223

Section 7

Bladen, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland

Leaders

Tom Lloyd
Cumberland County
tlloyd@co.cumberland.nc.us
(P) 910-678-7618

Mary Rose
City of Clinton/Sampson County
mmr@cityofclintonnc.us
(P) 910-299-4904 x3018

Scott Shuford
City of Fayetteville
sshuford@ci.fay.nc.us
(P) 910-433-1311