American Planning Association

North Carolina Chapter

APA-NC Sections

Click below to jump to a section

Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7

Image Map


In 2004, the APA-NC Executive Committee established a program to develop Regional Sections within APA-NC to encourage interaction among members at the local and regional levels.

Each Section is based on existing regional COG planning areas,  and has one or more leaders who are responsible for coordinating at least two meetings per year.  Leaders are invited to attend Executive Committee meetings to provide an update on how their Section is doing and express any concerns and challenges.

For more information you can contact our Sections Coordinator, Joe Heard.

Joe Heard, AICP
Sections Coordinator
(P) 252-255-1234


Section 1

Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Cleveland, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania, Watauga, Wilkes, Yancey


Todd Okolichany
City of Asheville
(P) 828-259-5840

Erica Anderson
Land of Sky COG
(P) 828-251-6622

Section 2

Alexander, Anson, Burke, Cabarrus, Caldwell, Catawba, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg, Rowan, Stanly, Union



Bill Duston
N-Focus Planning & Design
(P) 704-281-5497

Elinor Hiltz
Catawba County
(P) 828-465-8380

Jason Wager
Centralina COG
(P) 704-348-2707

Section 3

Alamance, Caswell, Davidson, Davie, Forsyth, Guilford, Montgomery, Randolph, Rockingham, Stokes, Surry, Yadkin


Brad Klosterman
CPK Consulting
(P) 336-327-5263

Megan Ledbetter
Village of Clemmons
(P) 336-766-7511

Section 4

Chatham, Durham, Franklin, Granville, Johnston, Lee, Moore, Orange, Person, Vance, Wake, Warren



Ken Krulik
Warren County
(P) 252-257-7027

Hillary Pace
Chatham County
(P) 919-542-8276

Shelby Powell
Capital Area MPO
(P) 919-996-4393

Scott Ramage
Town of Cary
(P) 919-462-3888

Roger Waldon
(P) 919-967-9188

Section 5

Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Dare, Edgecombe, Gates, Halifax, Hertford, Hyde, Martin, Nash, Northampton, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrell, Washington, Wilson



Joe Heard
Town of Duck
(P) 252-255-1234

James Rhodes
Pitt County
(P) 252-902-3250

Section 6

Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Wayne



Patrick Flanagan
Eastern Carolina COG
(P) 252-638-3185 x3031

Wes MacLeod
Cape Fear COG
(P) 910-395-4553 x223

Section 7

Bladen, Cumberland, Harnett, Hoke, Richmond, Robeson, Sampson, Scotland


Tom Lloyd
Cumberland County
(P) 910-678-7618

Mary Rose
City of Clinton/Sampson County
(P) 910-299-4904 x3018

Scott Shuford
City of Fayetteville
(P) 910-433-1311