Announcing the Winners of the 2017 Marvin Collins Awards!

Drumroll please….

The 2017 Marvin Collins Planning Awards were announced at the APA-NC annual conference in September. In case you missed it, here is the list of recipients. Congratulations to all, and thank you for your contributions to North Carolina communities and the planning profession.

Click here for more information about the Marvin Collins Award program.

Student Awards

Outstanding Students

  • East Carolina University—Damiere Powell
  • Appalachian State University—Lauren Andersen
  • University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill—Taylor McAdam


Outstanding Planning Awards

Comprehensive Planning—Large Community

  • City of Charlotte—Charlotte WALKS Pedestrian Plan
  • City of Fayetteville—Cape Fear River Plan
  • City of Greenville—Horizons 2026:  Greenville’s Community Plan (Honorable Mention)


Outstanding Planning Award – Implementation Small Community

  • Town of Davidson—Rural Area Plan


Outstanding Planning Award – Implementation Large Community

  • Burke County—Fonta Flora State Trail—Lake James Section Plan
  • City of Hickory—Inspiring Spaces Plan
  • Town of Cary—The Cary 2040 Community Plan (Honorable Mention)


Special Theme Award –Innovations

  • Town of Garner—Garner Forward Public Outreach Video
  • City of Newton—Newton Streetscape Demonstration Project


Individual Awards

Robert Reiman Professional Achievement Award

Roger S. Waldon, FAICP


Recognition of APA-NC’s 2017 Great Places

Kelly Bennett, AICP, 2017 Great Places Program Chair


Professional’s Category: Great Main Street

Evans Street, Morehead City


Professional’s Category: Great Main Street in the Making

Clay Street, Mebane


Professional’s Category: Great Transformation

Mooresville Mill, Mooresville


People’s Choice: Great Historic Rehabilitation

R.J. Reynolds Building, Winston-Salem


People’s Choice: Great Public Space

Shallowford Square, Lewisville

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *